top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureH

~Avant Garde Competition Entry (We Received an Honorable Mention!)


Jo & I participated in the AIAS Design Charrette two weekends ago. We both went in thinking "6 Hours? We won't need all that time!" We were so wrong. (Ha.)


I was primarily interested in gaining some experience in the competition realm. I also haven't had many opportunities to work on something with Jo because we are both so busy. I've always really admired their work.


I'm pleased with the resulting design. The competition hosts mentioned that there was a possibility they would try to build a prototype of the winner's design over the summer. I suggested we design in polycarbonate since it's affordable and also at the upper limit of what Tyler's laser cutters can handle.


Jo was interested in a thin frame that supported colorful streams of flowing, colorful plastic:

Underneath these colorful streams, we each designed a small pavilion for temporary exhibition of work from Tyler's glass department. We chose to do one dark pavilion and one light.

Here's Jo's dark pavilion - which has some similar moves to the connecting circulation space.

And here is my light(er) pavilion! I was interested in panels that could rotate back and forth - with rotating movement restrained by an outer frame. (That frame doubles as low seating.) I was thinking that once this was installed, they wouldn't be able to mow super closely and the grass would grow nice and tall in the gap.


I might clean my design up a little more and send it to my mom to see if she might want to build something similar for her garden.


H

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page